The Al Cormier award is named after Electric Mobility Canada’s founder, Al Cormier, who founded EMC in 2006, one of the first known organization focused on advancing electric mobility anywhere in the world.

EMC awards this national recognition annually to an individual who is or has been a champion in advancing the electrification of transportation. The Al Cormier Award recognizes an individual’s success rather than an organization’s success and must be beyond the person’s job description and display an exceptional contribution in one or more of the following criteria:

  • Excellence or leadership in electric mobility
  • Exceptional project or long-term initiative
  • Lifetime achievement
  • EMC association leadership
  • Substantially demonstrated that he or she is an innovator, leader, pioneer and / or initiator of significance in the realm of electric mobility


  • An individual based in Canada who has made an impact in Canada or globally as outlined above
  • Not necessarily an EMC member
  • May be awarded post posthumously


  • Nominations may be sponsored by any EMC member in good standing in any category
  • The next round of nominations will open in July 2023

The 2023 recipient will be announced at EMC’s annual conference, EVVÉ 2023


Previous Recipients

2010 – Al Cormier (1st recipient)
2011 – Serge Roy, Hydro-Québec
2012 – Pierre Lavallée, CEVEQ
2013 – Steve Dallas, Toronto Electric
2014 – Christina Ianniciello, BC Government
2015/16 – no recipient
2017 – Simon-Pierre Rioux, AVEQ
2018 – Matt Stevens, Cross Chasm
2019 – Sylvain Castonguay, Nordresa/Dana TM4
2020 – Catherine Kargas, MARCON-Miratech
2021 – Cara Clairman, Plug’n Drive
2022 – Marc Bédard, Lion Electric

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.
This site is registered on as a development site.